My Hallmark, Princess Layla and the Pacifier

The baby is crying and she won’t be quiet. Somewhere somehow you think you’ve done all you can to sooth your little girl and all you’ve really done is rock her back and forth, play goo-goo gaga in her face for what seems like an eternity and then,  pass her from family member to family member to see who has the golden touch…..and then it hits you like a ton of bricks falling from the sky and soon your jumping for joy because you’ve just answered the million dollar question: what in the world does this kid want and what will make her stop screaming?

Insert Pacifier; No and I am not joking….literally with all due respect to the family members in attendance for all their mis-developed efforts and of course little Layla for not realizing that all she wanted was her bobo with the ducky on the front to help her make those adorable sucking noises with wide bright eyes so that we could all regain some sanity and focus on what’s really important in the room: the baby! Lol

In a quick turn of events Princess Layla is now 3.5 years old and let’s face it, the beloved pacifier is old news. At least in my opinion its served its purpose and for me I have no idea what that is. Of course I am biased to the way I was raised by my mom and I am like “when I have kids there will be no pacifier!!” for what? I didn’t have one and if I did I don’t have any memories of it at all. My mom talks about my sister having one for her short hospital stay but she was premature and her lungs weren’t developed all the way so the hospital made her a make-shift one and when they told my mother my sisters lungs had strengthened and shed be fine….”good riddance” to the pacifier all together! But in the Laura Ramirez way of parenting were walking at one and the bottle was gone along with our crawling days. In other words, mama didn’t play.

But that being said I did my research. I mean I want to know what the purpose of a pacifier is so that I make sure I am not in all actuality depriving my kids of some sort of precious development. So here is the breakdown:

Majority of sites are not really stating that a pacifier is in fact necessary at all. The famous response for use of a pacifier is that it helps a baby with suckling. However some sites say that if you plan on breast feeding you should hold off until your baby is familiar with your nipple before getting used to a pacifier because both nipples are different and, let’s face it, the one giving your baby nutrients is the one you want them to prefer.  And the most unpopular reason for a pacifier being tossed is that the baby will get attached to it and they won’t be able to school they’re child on why their pacifier is no longer an adorable fashionable accessory!

1484010_10152123493865086_743272832_o

But there is more than just one reason Pacifiers get the yay and nay vote by some parents:

Pacifier Pros

  • A pacifier might soothe a fussy baby. Some babies are happiest when they’re sucking on something.
  • A pacifier offers temporary distraction.A pacifier might come in handy during and after shots, blood tests or other procedures.
  • A pacifier might help your baby fall asleep.If your baby has trouble settling down, a pacifier might do the trick.
  • A pacifier might ease discomfort during flights.Babies can’t intentionally “pop” their ears by swallowing or yawning to relieve ear pain caused by air pressure changes. Sucking on a pacifier might help.
  • A pacifier might help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS).Sucking on a pacifier at nap time and bedtime might reduce the risk of SIDS. If you’re breast-feeding, wait to offer a pacifier until your baby is 3 to 4 weeks old and you’ve settled into an effective nursing routine.
  • Pacifiers are disposable.When it’s time to stop using pacifiers, you can throw them away. If your child prefers to suck on his or her thumb or fingers, it might be more difficult to break the habit.

Pacifier No’s

  • Early pacifier use might interfere with breast-feeding. Sucking on a breast is different from sucking on a pacifier or bottle, and some babies are sensitive to those differences. Research suggests that early use of artificial nipples is associated with decreased exclusive breast-feeding and duration of breast-feeding — although it’s not clear if artificial nipples cause breast-feeding problems or serve as a solution to an existing problem.
  • Your baby might become dependent on the pacifier.If your baby uses a pacifier to sleep, you might face frequent middle-of-the-night crying spells when the pacifier falls out of your baby’s mouth.
  • Pacifier use might increase the risk of middle ear infections.However, rates of middle ear infections are generally lowest from birth to age 6 months — when the risk of SIDS is the highest and your baby might be most interested in a pacifier.
  • Prolonged pacifier use might lead to dental problems. Normal pacifier use during the first few years of life doesn’t cause long-term dental problems. However, prolonged pacifier use might cause a child’s teeth to be misaligned or not come in properly.

At the end of the day it is your choice! I personally won’t have my kids sucking away on a pacifier unless the doctor thinks it’s necessary.  Although I do plan to breast feed as well so they will get there inate response to suckle from that and I even read that some parents let their babies suck just for comfort and not necessarily for food all the time so that they get that sense of comfort or motor skill. And don’t quote me but if I do give in I am positive that baby X won’t be using it past one year old.

As for this blog it held a special not in my heart because my best friend, My Hallmark who gets emotional about things easily … (we’re total opposites and I love that!) who was going through some issues with my god daughter (Princess Layla) about her Pacifier and family members thought was right and wrong with taking her off of it.  I needed to understand the logic behind the whole pacifier and its purpose. We all have a use and things are invented daily because there is a need for something, whether it’s good for us per say or not.  A lot of things amount to a waste of time, but that being said judging why we do things never solves anything. I don’t dislike the mom whose kid is using a pacifier … well maybe the 4-5 age category and up pacifier mom, but really? The line needs to get drawn; if Billy doesn’t know how to suckle by then well I think there needs to be a medical intervention of some sort. And those who think I am depriving my kids of something so special well they can blow it out of their ears quite frankly, lol!

It’s that situation with life and the choices you make. Some of the time you are dammed if you do and dammed if you don’t! So stick to your guns, do the research, and if you feel that you are making the right decision then go for it! You’re allowed to make mistakes … hell our parents did and who says we aren’t allowed to do the same?

Sources:

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/infant-and-toddler-health/in-depth/pacifiers/art-20048140

Pros and Cons of Pacifiers

http://www.healthofchildren.com/P/Pacifier-Use.html  (FOUND QUITE INTERESTING)

http://www.babycenter.com/0_pacifiers-the-basics_128.bc

Leave a Reply

