Fashion Recovery 1.0 (Confessions of A Fashion Addict)

Yes! my name is Angeline Ramirez and I have an addiction!

And I love it (smiles)…except on laundry day #teehee

How many of my lovely people out there can say that they have the most sassy, inspiring, classy, elegant, bold show-stopping addiction? Well I have no problem admitting I clearly have a problem! And as for those other 11 steps…I’m willing to take a closer look if you are, but no promises of fashion addiction reform 😉

I mean I wake up every day and I am excited about what I get to dress up in for whatever the day holds. The great thing about my particular diagnosis is that I am not fit for just one section of the department store! I mean let’s be honest, why conform to just being a grunge girl or a women with class and elegance when I can punk rock the socks off of any formal gown? My motto is don’t sell yourself short…on anything and especially not the twelve fun happy-go-lucky, crazy psychotic, sympathetically apologetic, preppy princess personalities bubbling inside you.

Steps two and three indicate that we believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity and that we have made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of that greater Power as we understood It. Well if this is what is required then I truly believe my greater Power would want me to be fashionable (which is an expression of me) in every form of outward show within reason and means! Yes I have sane efforts in how I shop, come on people what do you take me for? Which brings us to step four: Make a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves. With that being said I don’t just buy everything I see (cough cough…I have been known to buy things on impulse but that’s not what we’re talking about here, per say) I only buy what I can when I can…except the occasional splurge on earrings from Forever21 or H&M where the cost is less than $5 only because I desire the need to spruce up an outfit or two lol! And my greater Power said he would give me the desires of my heart…and if he can’t then I can’t!

You think he would put that $5 in my pocket and allow me to use it if I have no gas in my car?….Not my higher Power!

But, moving forward I really don’t think my addiction needs any REAL curing at all. I just can’t figure out why I am not satisfied yet! It’s not like I hate everything in my closet or I have clothes with tags still on them cause I don’t! I wear everything equally and am always revamping past items and interchanging fashion styles and trends to keep it fresh and tailor it to fit me! Cause at the end of the day I dress how I dress to impress me…and anyone’s take on that is up to them. I just love coming up with new ideas so that I can inspire others. Now don’t get me wrong I can’t pull everything off either so I am sure I have had my share of Fashion Flops, lol! But again I am proud to admit that because it helps me not make those mistakes again.

I can also admit I’m a creep in the dressing room because I love aiding in fashion do’s and don’ts and I am always asking others (aka strangers) for feedback too! I always start with “now be completely honest…if you saw me out in this what would you think!” then I tell them what I think is wrong with it and if they give me great feedback I can   confidently make a conscious yesss! Or NO! decision. Asking familiar faces all the time is not always your best chess move…these people know you, they’re with you and they know how you guys talk about other girls when you’re out together (yes that was a confession wrapped in a confession blog lmfao!) and that can obscure you trying to think outside your comfort zone…so ask a stranger and a male friend and of course if you must…always include one of your most blunt, straight up, from the heart, no fucks given friends a chance to tell you what they think (btw we should all have one of those last friends in our life) because in all honesty, you don’t want to be a repeat guest on “what NOT to wear”

So, in admitting all of this I can state for the record that I do take buying clothes a little too seriously. I am the girl who shifts money around  at times and justifies purchases at the register because I want pretty new things in my life…I mean my wardrobe. However, for me fashion is the easiest way to express myself and everyday is a new adventure. I get to be whoever I want whenever I want. Clothes and Shoes and Bags and Jewelry make me happy. Sometimes all I need is to be in their presence (without buying anything) just to reboot my down spell or to lift up my spirit…Crazy right? And dare I say I have made it to step #5; admitting to my greater Power, to myself, and to another human being the exact nature of my wrongs.

Hmmmm…I am tempted to skip step six, but I suppose we’ve made it this far and it could be because its saying that we are entirely ready to have our greater Power remove all these defects of character. I’m not sure how I feel about this. Now judge me if you must but I don’t want to be rid of my fashion addiction! I remember the days of frumpy t-shirts and baggy jeans and ratty hair and no make-up! Those were rough times lol! And while I was probably quite the tom boy (I could care less about makeup and dresses) If I knew then what I know now about dressing for the part then I would have been even more awesome than I already was and that says a lot considering we had bullies at our school , me making it just under the radar undetected #whew. However, after careful consideration of this step I am going to spin my version on it and say that it is asking me to exercise some self-control and dig a little deeper into this urge to shop shop shop! And in the defense of Step seven its beautiful, much more sensible twin sister I will humbly ask my higher Power to remove my shortcomings; Because with all due respect I should shop within my means and do it when all my other financial affairs (more precisely) are in order. To use the luxury of shopping as a reward of self for making ends meet and obtaining goals I have set!

This really is getting easier and I think that I am learning a lot from this! And I am proud to say that I made it to step eight and nine unscathed and still standing. My breathing is controlled and my vitals are still intact! And these steps have me smiling (make a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them all & make direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.) because I don’t have to make amends with anyone! I have not wronged my peers or injured them I have only made their lives richer. I love when people compliment my outfit of the day or ask for my help in shopping or simply my opinion. I want them to be amazing stylists like myself and go to the store without hesitation or catching any kind of feels for trying on that bold pink dress! Don’t apologize for your taste in anything, it’s never a bad choice really…in some cases it just needs to be modified and after all we are all discovering our niche. Watch look and learn from those around you. More importantly research (fashion magazines, pinterest, people around you, television) What works for one doesn’t always work for the ton but if printed leggings aren’t your thing then how can you make her outfit yours without the hideous tight/pants dilemma lol!

Finishing up this post has got me itching to team up with Pinterest (another addiction of mine) and pin away at some of the most delicious fashion out there. To inspire women and men to express themselves and for me to drool over new items I want to devour for Spring and Summer (if and when they arrive in full effect and not be such wuss’ about taking control of their rightful place in the seasons line-up [sorry I went off on a tangent there, please forgive me]) but I will try to refrain (this is a complete lie-I’m only human don’t judge me) but as a declaration to this personal testimony I will continue to take personal inventory, and when I am wrong, promptly admit it…as I have above! (That’s step ten if you were wondering where this noble declaration came from!)

In retrospect, I know that I am not going to be able to continue being better on my own. I fall short daily. Its like I have Fashion ADD (yes I made that up but it should be a thing) I know I have bills to pay or that I don’t need a new pair of shoes to add to the growing pile that currently has no  home, but it is something I need to work on and discipline myself in so I plan to reflect on this and try my very best to improve my cognizant connection with my higher Power so that I can get better guidance on how to carry out my addictive habits (this is good stuff right here…I should read this daily so that I stay my stylish butt on track! #step11)

So would you say you’ve had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps? I sure hope so, lol and if not well it’s okay that the stem of your high heel broke and you almost made a mad dash for the hors d’oeuvre table at the cocktail party on your (elegantly dressed) way down to the floor…where you pretended that you lost a contact! Get up, dust yourself off, break the other heel off and sachet around the room with those new-found flats! Because life is a party no matter how you dress for it!

P.S Step twelve is cleverly using what you’ve learned from the past steps to not only continue on with your recovery but to incorporate them into your everyday life and into others. But I find that the key is not to badger yourself or your friends, Or to make it hell on earth for yourself, but to simply apply it to all areas and go with the flow. We all fall off…the big deal is getting back up and embracing the collapse and not dwelling in the set-back. And while your down there composing yourself, ask yourself this….

Why leave the party when it’s just getting started 😉

Happy Sunday Party People

-Xoxo

Leave a Reply

