Now Serving: Easter with a side of Veracity, Anxiety & Verdict!

Hey there guys and dolls!

So I am sure that you just finished stepping out of your Easter’s best prior to stuffing yourselves chuck full of what this year’s Holiday Shebang has brought us right beside your little precious girls and boys who have now drifted off from candy comas!

That being said I’m wide awake contemplating how amazing our Holidays have shifted into a smorgasbord of all you can eat treats and presents! Now don’t get me wrong I am coming down from my own high of offering Easter Baskets to the kiddies (sad I didn’t send more out, but there’s always next year) and stuffing my face full of: (well let’s not go there seeing as I recently volunteered myself to participate in this Abs & Squat Challenge, but that s for another day) never you mind! … I would just like to say that a lot of things have changed since I was a kid. Some for the better of course, I never had an Easter Basket or wore a pretty dress, or even hunted anything…let alone colored plastic eggs with little jelly filled beans inside! However, I didn’t participate in a lot of things this generation gets away with these days.

Sitting at the kitchen table of my second moms house drinking coffee and indulging in sweet bread with my best friend, and two of our girlfriends (what felt like a scene from the Golden Girls, reminiscing about times past) we just started diving into somewhat of a taboo conversation (Religion) that branched out into other topics that concern us as young ladies walking into new territories and just matters of building concern.  So let me set the scene on some of the subjects that piqued our interests.

Religion

In the face of society and the way we try to categorize and label and put each other in a box I had told my fellow blogger that expressing her opinion on this matter was the right thing to do. For me it felt like she was torn between enlisting her viewers in a touchy subject. Writing comes natural to her so producing it wasn’t the problem…like me, her mouth is not a bakery so if its sugar coated you’re looking for you better search the yellow pages ASAP! However I completely understand why she would be hesitant. We as a people claim to be ready for anything. We are the tough as nails crew and we won’t back down from anything and yet we are still stuck on stupid and repeat episodes of Jersey Shore (someone shoot me now!) That being said I told her that I don’t write for people to like it because what’s good for one isn’t always good for the ton and that’s what keeps things interesting. I am not trying to live in a world that keeps us paralyzed by a complete unified way of being.

I write to rustle the paper and get the people going (THINK PEOPLE ITS NOT ILLEGAL YET! – saw that written on a shirt and thought it was genius). Which brought us to bad Christians vs. good Christians and how there are those “bad” people in your Religion too, (yup I said it…Cats out the bag!) and just because you choose not to see it or embrace it doesn’t’ mean that its not a product of what you stand for. And just so you don’t think I’m hiding behind the tree of life or something, I’M CHRISTIAN LADIES AND GENTLEMEN…please feel free to stand in the back or pull up a chair, I’m here all night.

I see horrible Christians daily and I see bad Catholics and misguided Baptists and crooked Jehovah’s Witness’ and so forth. So while we’re on the record, I’ll just say it, are we “good” followers of any religious faith? Because the way I see it are we not “bad” for judging those around us?

Matthew 7:1-5 

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

Or maybe that’s only in MY bible?

We trudged on to talk about the Atheists and how they don’t believe in God and yet they are the first ones to quote scripture and tell you how you are SUPPOSED to be living your life. Why are you so worried about it? Why take the time to research the Old and New Testaments if you have little or no faith in it? And I am not beyond my research so here is the definition of Atheism:

Atheism is not a disbelief in gods or a denial of gods; it is a lack of belief in gods. Older dictionaries define atheism as “a belief that there is no God.”

So if you don’t believe, fantastic; take your lack of belief over there and take several seats! Unless someone is trying to berate you or force you or even convince you that you are somehow a certified whack job for believing in what you believe in, there is no discussion to be had or tantalizing argument to be made. We are all on a journey through life with the same end result: we die. What we do, believe in or how we show up before we get there is your prerogative just don’t bring that shade over here. I am willing and able and even intrigued by your motivation concerning your beliefs but do not for a second think I will cater to nor conform to your ways willingly because what you believe to be true for you is true for us all.

As well, I like a healthy conversation about what others takes are on the different traditions, elements and credence that bind you as a human being and as a community. This goes hand and hand with traditions…have we not adopted others along the way? Of course and same goes for religion, but it should not be the “thing” everyone is afraid to talk about…hell I fall off the Christian bandwagon six and seven times a day, and in the words of Kat Williams “I’m on my fifth second chance already –really?, what did you think I was going to say?”So get off your high horses and look in the mirror…that’s your struggle.

Caillou

Now I have real issues with this child and I am not even a parent who is up at 7 a.m with baby tucked under my arm and two little ones glued to Sprout or Chica or whatever these kids watch nowadays…I’m a Sesame Street girl and I hear that even that is a mess these days: cookie monster eating veggies? Just trying to suck the life out of everything now aren’t we? Why not show how not to bring a gun to the fist fight, lol! Now that’s a Sesame Street improvement right there lol!

Alright back on track! Where were we; oh yes Caillou! the whiny child who never really gets in trouble or reprimanded for his actions. I mean he starts half the trouble he gets into and then he bellyaches for 20 minutes before anyone does anything to curb his bratty enthusiasm. The ladies at the table second my argument stating that they don’t let their kids watch Caillou either. I also recently read a post that was titled “P.A.C…Parents against Caillou” and I was relieved to know that I was not the only one.  The ladies in my corner, who all have children ranging in various ages, agreed that the way they were brought up, if you whined or threw temper tantrums it was the pits for you. My mom conveyed it all in a look and while others were subjected to the flying chancla (sandal), we just knew better than to act a fool and understood that the first time we did something in a category wrong it better be our last, lol! Mama didn’t play those games and quite frankly we don’t either.

I mean the article even stated that this woman’s child was starting to act out because he/she witnessed Caillou participating in these drawn out tantrums. Television to a parent is their few minutes of peace while cooking dinner or preparing laundry, straightening up the house or even just taking a seat for 5 glorious minutes…I’m sure they don’t need help from a kids show demonstrating how to act a fool when children have that chip inserted as part of who they are. It’s called a “stage” which is meant to allow them to grow out of not fuel the fire deep inside them for destruction lol! And I say all this from a little 4 year old bald headed trouble maker…what happened to Tom and Jerry (that show had nothing going on except for two fifteen minute chase scenes and no catch…Looney Tunes was remarkable kid television…Adventures of the Gummi Bears, Zoobilee Zoo, Eureka’s Castle and Fragile Rock to name a few epic shows.

Parents, watch what your kids are watching. Listen to what they say and where its coming from, especially if you know it’s not from you (be honest with yourselves, I don’t live with you) Saddle up and sharpen that mind for the hidden innuendos and messages being brought to your children via the boob tube, it’s scary out there!

Schooling

All in favor of Home Schooling please stand up! In all honesty I am on the fence with this issue. I mean yeah I am all for my kids getting dirty with other kids, being exposed to different cultures and learning to be independent in an ever changing world but pump the breaks when it comes to vandalizing, bullying, crime and lack of support from our teachers, fellow parents, the CPS and societies undeveloped propaganda, followed by poor maintenance of our communities.

We ladies come from a generation that not too long ago played in the streets.  It wasn’t’ misconstrued as a bad thing either. We had curfews (street lights on you took your behind inside with no questions), we didn’t ask things twice or at all demanding answers from our elders. We had manners and respect for our seniors and our peers. Adults aided each other in looking out for the neighborhood kids and getting good grades and staying out of trouble weren’t options they were requirements.

Videos, Status’, Blogs even that infiltrates the lives of young adults and the world that has become an alternate reality of what we’ve known shows us that (not in all cases but in some) we have something to be fearful of. Kids getting shot on street corners for no reason just walking to school, kids mob beating a girl in a public place because what? She stole the other girls’ boyfriend? (Seriously, what is that little ass boy doing for you?), girls committing suicide due to vicious posts on social media or our young men depressed due to their lack of interest in girls at age ten…But this is the norm right now.

When I have children will I be able to shelter them from EVERYTHING, God willing, but  regrettably the answer is a hollow, NO that sits in my chest paralyzing me because as much as home schooling my kids sounds like the winning answer, it’s not. Kids die daily from stray bullets, another group is kidnapped, I’m sure you don’t have to go to public school to get bullied; you can start a Face book account for that! And after the dust clears it does arguably take a little bit of independence and adventure away from them. Being secluded has its perks but it also has its way of back firing so where’s the happy medium I am so desperately seeking day in and day out as I watch my niece (12 years old) commute to school, make friends and inevitably try to “fit in” (I’m proud to say she’s doing just fine but some of them aren’t so lucky). And what do I tell my 3 year old nephew (who is soooo sweet and innocent and states regularly that he doesn’t want to grow up) that the world beyond is not as protected as his “child point of view” paints it to be?!

Blogging

And last but not least just blogging. Getting the word out there: serving people a colossal helping of authentic no filter sarcastic good for the soul truth! Debatably enough I have thoughts on this word truth and what it means to us all. The cliff-notes version is this: your truth is yours and my truth is mine but it is only a fleeting version of fact, because I believe that truth is an interpretation. There is no real right and wrong of it but I do believe that we at some point; inevitably have to agree to disagree and move on. And sometimes that means sacrificing what you believe is true for the greater good whether your half on, off or riding shotgun.

We pursue this invisible begin and end all truth when truthfully (no pun intended) if there was a complete exactness then we’d have made it there already, no? I mean it’s a hundred degrees and the AC conked out almost 600 miles ago and the water supply is dwindling fast, fasten your seat belts girls and boys we just hit where the sidewalk ends and it’s a long way down before we regain any traction!

I want my voice to be heard. I want it to matter. I want it to ignite and I want it to instigate. I want it to be felt and reshaped and recycled. I want it to do a lot of things but what I don’t want it to do is hold complete truth! Because my truth is changing daily, what it meant yesterday is not what it means today. I have struggled and I have moved mountains and I have witnessed and I have put myself back together again. I have calluses from the war zones I have trudged through and smooth skin where I have escaped and experienced joy but if I remained in my past truth then there would be no room for the truth I have now or the one waiting for me.

They keep telling me I should write, where is your blog, why haven’t you started, vlog on YouTube, publish, and do spoken word. I have encouraged many people to follow their hearts desires and I have sat on the side lines (by choice). I said I would start again and some people didn’t know I had this gift and now that they know, despite that they’ve been doing just that; following their zeal, I have stirred them to take it to the next level by rousing them to illustrate their aptitude or insist others witness them.

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us…

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that frightens us most. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

― Marianne Williamson

 

Where are you on your Journey? What is your Truth? Where do you stand?

6b67f957599e2f9ad2392488b977e50b

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Resa says:

    I especially liked the Caillou portion….I was hoping that I wasn’t the only parent out there that felt like reaching into the TV and slapping that kid silly.

    He is rude and does not listen ever no matter how many times you tell him something and his parents just sigh and let him do it.

    Plus who are the grandparents really….are they the mom or the dads parents….part time work, mother is always on the phone ect….I just don’t get the foolishness.

    Thanks for making me feel less alone on this matter

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Angeline says:

    Lol not a problem Resa!

    Yeah its strange to even speak on the matter as I do not have children but really? I feel for all the parents out there that are searching for something productive for their children to watch! Plus its such a ripe tender age where kids are picking up on the tiniest bits of information. As we grow we dont have the same mind capacity but why fill it full of trash why they are still pure, and suseptable to valuable information? I am a firm believer that while genius’ and prodigy’s are born some can still be made!

    Lets take a stand Party People!

    *although I guess its an appropriate portrayal of this generation where you cant hit or discipline your children effectively to teach them the ins and outs of being a respectable human being #sad

    Like

Leave a Reply

