Burned

Salt seared open wounds that

I configured and calculated to

Diffuse bombs in past scandals

Have risen once more

Naivety crept back in under

Dirt ridden cleaned nails

Cut claws to fit a persona

I had evolved into shedding

Old carcasses of the black

Widow I had once been

Evil disguised hardly

Benefiting a doubt I should

Have stayed aware of

Cloaked in beauty

To entice with forbidden

Luxuries laced in cyanide

Lurking in the shadows

Triggered to strike

In comfortable moments

Where had I gone to

A disappeared existence

Abandoned for the sacrifice

Of my soul

Feeding it to devils nonetheless

Whose gone girl game have

I played?

The boogie man never sleeps

Weaving in the crevices of

Your mind’s eye

Itch him awake and there

He rests for eternity

No off switch, no batteries…

Included

Pure energy manifested

Prisoners taken at will and

I continue to feed

Or is it he who feeds me?

Leaving and then reminding

Of the hold on my neck

As I suffocate in blood

Not yet drawn

Drowning inside myself

Sins caused by others for

My benefit or lack…

Thereof

These familiar streets

Traveled here I have before

I know the scent

I’ve mapped this trail

Yet new I still remain

Posses the key I will not

Until I cross over

Relinquish my control

Give in

To this everlasting

Defeat

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Laurie says:

    Awesome poem I liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angeline says:

      Thanks love!! I appreciate your feedback that had to do with that situation…you knew which one!!

      Like

  2. Pene.Grace says:

    Great poem…..the dark nature of it appeals to my sensibilities.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

